The Tragedy of Mulgrew Miller

Image

 

We’ve lost the greatest pianist of our time.

The pathos involved in grieving can be measured in many different ways. Somehow, with exception to the most heinous of circumstances, death is a very forgiving science. One can be known as an asshole and still be missed.

Death always seems to hurt the most when it happens in a seemingly untimely fashion to the most complete person. A person who lives the paradigm of divinity.  Last night, perhaps amongst the hundreds of faceless deaths that happened during that hour, the one that managed to embody this image has made his transition.

When I was in my formative years learning to play this music (which would have been the late 80s into the 90s), Mulgrew Miller’s name was certainly a name that, as they say, kept popping up. I was foolish then. I didn’t particularly pay attention to ANY modern day rhythm section players. I focused on the trumpet players, naturally.  Not long after my arrival in NYC (’98), I got the chance to play with Lewis Nash’s septet. The group featured myself,  Jimmy Greene, Steve Nelson, Steve Kroon, Peter Washington and.. Mulgrew. I was immediately stricken by how genuine Mulgrew was. There was NO vibe (not to say that anyone else in the group had a vibe) but his gentleness was a unique blend of self-assuredness and humility. I remember we bonded because the project that we were doing with Nash was a Celtic project and thus, the titles of the songs had very traditional Irish names. One of them stood out, and when we simultaneously read the title, Mulgrew and I looked at each other (deadpan) and said “Planxety Burke” ! This would set the tone of how we’d great each other from then until the last time I saw him (which was last year some time). I’m sure many that knew him longer could share the same inside stories.

Mulgrew is not special or unique when you consider the expansive canon of artists that died way before their time,  and one could go on and on really extolling the virtues of his genius and servitude to his craft and morals. Perhaps, what bothers me the most about his demise is that he never got his due. Don’t get me wrong. He was well respected in his field by US (the musicians) and well revered by seasoned listeners. Additionally, he was a gifted educator and the reason why he was head of the department at William Patterson is CLEAR.  However, Mulgrew was somebody who’s rightful career never quite took off the way it should have, and as a result he was ALWAYS being overlooked. There are many names of pianists that benefitted from his playing and also benefitted from the fact that he was overlooked, making room for their careers. It’s not their fault. It’s feast or famine, and I’m by no means indicting them. Instead I urge writers and promoters alike to embrace ALL musical points of views, instead of jumping on band wagons. It’s clear that Mulgrew wasn’t and “out” player, nor was he on the stage groovin with the latest Sean John’s on, but this man was and had been a musical genius (and EVERY BIT as influential to EVERYONE THAT FOLLOWED HIM)  for 30 years and he never was properly celebrated for it. 

Wake up. Celebrate ALL the “NOWS” in jazz. Not just what’s hot.

I love you and will miss you Mulgrew.

Planxety!

JP
5-29-13
Köln, Germany 
 

10 thoughts on “The Tragedy of Mulgrew Miller

  1. Dear Jeremy,
    Grieving with you here, and honoring him–he was so generous, as you have been, with my students, who have been writing in from all over the world. One of them said, “I felt like I was with a king when he spoke to me and played for us.” I felt like that, too, all the time I was around him, humble and kind as he was. He had a gift and a spirit that were so genuine.
    I’m sorry for your loss, Jeremy, and appreciate this tribute.
    Sending love,
    Nina

  2. Jeremy,

    Your treatise on the life, death and greatness of Mr. Miller is right on point. I stand guilty of not being more familiar with his contribution to music, having been caught up in the “who’s hot now” movement myself.

    Nevertheless, Praise God for gifting Mr. Miller to us, as a positive force and inspiration in the serious music community and may his legacy live on.

    Peace,
    -Ron Pierrot

  3. I mourn the passing of Mulgrew Miller. I have nearly every recording he made as a leader. It pains me to think he was “overlooked”, and I want to say, he is/was not “overlooked”, at least to our seemingly small jazz world.

  4. Thanks Jeremy for posting about Mulgrew. What a major loss for the music and the jazz world!!
    Mulgrew was a true, compassionate, genuine, and giving soul. His humbleness and respectfulness taught me a lot. His gentleness, passion, and soulfulness are what I feel will live on forever in his music!! We’ll miss you dear Mulgrew…

Leave a comment